Weekend Recap

We had a pretty low-key weekend, which is always nice.  Saturday, I got up early to run with my half marathon training group for a six mile run. I ran with a different pace group than I did the first week. I liked both the people and the pace a lot better. For some reason, I find the faster paced groups (in my experience) have a lot of snobby runners. Even the pacers that are supposed to help keep morale, get to know the group, etc were just too cool for the group. They ran together and the rest of us lagged behind. This group was much better – more runners that just ran for fun and weren’t super tied down to beating everyone else’s time. I made a new running buddy that I hope will help get through the long miles to come.

After Charlotte’s nap we headed to home depot and picked out paint colors for the laundry room and Charlotte’s room. Her bedroom is a super bubble gum pink right now. No bueno. We’re gearing up for another set of house projects. I’m excited to get back into them after our lapse since Charlotte’s birthday party. I’m hoping to do board and batten in her room. It’ll be a new level of home improvement for us, so we’ll see how that goes.

The laundry room is currently a faded sunny yellow. If anyone knows me, they know I am not a yellow person. I lean towards a shade of grey for every room. The laundry room will be more of a greige (grey/beige) with white trim. We’re going to attempt a beadboard ceiling  and open shelves above the washer/dryer area. Excited for the cozy feel that room will have.

Sunday, we made Collin breakfast in bed and then did some cleaning. We had lunch at one of our favorite Mexican places and then grocery shopping. Collin and I are attempting an eat better challenge. Basically, we realize that we eat a lot of crap and we’re trying to be conscious of what we eat and then eat better.  I made something last night that I would never have attempted or thought I would’ve liked….the superfood salad from Iowa Girl Eats. Loved the salad and even learned to cook quinoa…go me! Her blog is super cute. You should check it out if you haven’t already. She posts great healthy recipes and work out ideas.

It is gorgeous outside today…a little windy but sunny and warm. I’m thinking of running with the jogging stroller to pick up Charlotte and then running home. I wonder how many people will think I’m nuts running with an empty stroller?? 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Recap

  1. Liz says:

    I have found the same thing about faster pace group… I always wondered if it was just in my head or not/me being insecure?! But maybe not, since you’ve noticed it too!

Leave a Reply

