Allergic to winter?

img_4307.jpgimg_4307.jpgLittle Miss Lola had to go to the emergency vet today. Collin called and asked if Lola was ok when I left this morning for work. Last I saw, she was hanging out on the couch and was feeling fine. She apparently had some sort of allergic reaction which caused her face to swell and look like she was in the losing end of a boxing match. After some steroids (she’s on the juice!) and an antihistamine, she is home and recovering.

img_4307.jpg

img_4310.jpg

I have to say…not that I am comparing dogs to humans… I don’t know how parents cope when their kids are sick. As soon as Collin said something was wrong with Lola, I immediately went to a place in my head where we were going to decide whether or not to put her down. I had instant tears in my eyes and tried not to panic. I just cannot imagine how parents of real human children feel when their children are hurt/sick/etc. I’m so going to be one of those paranoid parents that wraps my kids in bubble wrap on the way to school in case they were to fall. At least I have a practice run with Lola so that I am at least aware of my tendencies. Send love and hugs Lola’s way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Allergic to winter?

  1. Julia says:

    Oh, Lola….hugs to you! I hope she is okay! I don’t think you are odd for considering her like a child….Henry is TOTALLY like my son and I’d die if anything happened to him. I can’t even think about that or I get all freaked out…and I do think dogs are a good starting point for children. Discipline, selflessness, caring for another life—all the same:)

  2. Emily says:

    I hope Miss Lola gets well soon!!

Leave a Reply

