Beautifully Unspectacular

I was browsing my internet favorites this morning while stalling from doing actual work and found that John Mayer had written a new blog entry. He summarized an idea that I’ve had for a long time. The fact that all of us are taught from a young age that we are special and can do whatever we want and that nothing can stop us. In reality though, we aren’t really all that special. We aren’t all going to grow up and do something amazing and people probably won’t remember us when we’re gone. It takes a lot of getting used to, that idea.
I think I grew up thinking I was going to have this glamorous career and have this nice house and just be the envy of everyone. My life is a lot less movie-like but probably more happy than it would have been the other way around. I have a great husband I never envisioned having and a comfortable low key life. It’s just a weird that your life can take turns you never imagined and that it’ll be better than you thought it could be.
Sometimes I think about family members and wonder if they like the life they’re living or if they are dreaming of something more. I want to believe that people are living the lives they want to live but it makes me sad to think that maybe they aren’t.  I believe that even though you aren’t living the life you originally thought you would….. it’s the life that you created and can continue to change and make the way you want it to be. It’s not static. So if you’re unhappy….change something, do something different. Don’t be afraid to take a chance. I apologize for the deep/introspective blog but I was in a mood to think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beautifully Unspectacular

  1. Julia says:

    I quite like the deep thoughts here. AND I totally forgot about my boyfriend’s blog and now I must run over to read it. ….

  2. Lynn says:

    Life is what you make of it…good or bad. As you said..if you’re not happy, make a change. Sometimes the poor choices that we make earlier in life teach us something valuable that will help later in life. The most interesting thing is to take advantage of opportunities so that you never have to say “what if” and struggle with something that you missed.

    You are SPECIAL and you will do amazing things: successful career, motherhood…who know what the cards have in store for you…that is half of the fun!

    Don’t ever think that you aren’t special. Everyone is special in some special way. It may not be obvious, but it is true. I love you! Lynn.

  3. lifeinthesack says:

    why would you apologize for offering up some deep thinking? you should apologize to yourself, for apologizing if anything. The thing that affected me most about the whole “you can be whatever you ant to be” shpeel was the reality that it should be “you can be whatever you bust your bleeding chops to be and nothing more.” thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

