Weekend in Review

Friday night Collin and I walked down to an area restaurant for a yummy dinner. We rented The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. It was really good and realllllly long.  All week the weather people predicted 65 and 70 for Saturday and Sunday, respectively. Saturday we got up and took Lola to Forest Park. She was horrible on the leash….too many smells and dogs and people. After walking through soppy, wet grass, we decided to stop and rest by a creek. At that point, Lola decided she was going to go exploring. She jumped right in and proceeded to explore. Collin and I were shocked that she’d even go near the water because she’s petrified when we give her baths. She loved it. It was hilarious to see her splashing around and chasing her ball.

Saturday afternoon we went to the grocery store (blah), relaxed and watched the Braves play. Lola was covered in mud so she got a much-needed bath. Saturday evening I had dinner out with the lovely ladies of my office. We went to a mexican restaurant that was muy delicioso. It had the best white cheese I’ve ever had and believe me, I am a queso connoisseur. It’s nice to be able to go out and not have the stresses of work. We can all relax and laugh and make fun of the office atmosphere.

Sunday morning we got up and took Lola to the dog park. It really is her favorite place. As soon as we start heading that direction she starts yanking our shoulders out of the sockets by pulling so hard. After about an hour of playing, we headed back home. We had some errands to run.  Last weekend we bought “The Gentle Leader,” a dog leash that is supposed to help deter dogs from pulling by using a loop around their snouts. Unfortunately, Lola has a short face and it freaked her out to even get near the thing. We exchanged the Gentle Leader for a choke collar. I was completely against the idea because it just looks so cruel! I put my arm through it to see if it would hurt and it seemed ok and I acquiesced. We stopped by Trader Joe’s to pick up some olive oil and fresh bread. Yummmm….. We returned something to best buy, returned a move to blockbuster and exchanged it for I am Legend. I’ll let you know if it’s any good. We watched the Cubs game, napped and went to the dog park to round out the evening.

On a different note: Shout out to Collin for passing the Illinois Bar…. Loves and Congrats!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend in Review

  1. julia says:

    Congrats Collin!

    And it sounds like a fun weekend was had. I love the new blog layout, too.

  2. Emily says:

    Sorry for the double whammy – But I too would like to say Congrats to Collin and I like the new layout!!!! Haha… jinx!

Leave a Reply

