Race for the Cure!

I want to tell you all a story that has both inspired me and encouraged me not to take life for granted. Julia of the blog My Life in Transition shared the story of her friend Keri (here, here and here). Keri was just diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer at the age of 26. She has already undergone a bilateral mastectomy and today will find out if her cancer is linked to the BRCA gene. If so, she will have to have her ovaries removed, as there is a huge chance of having ovarian cancer as well. This is such a tough thing to go through but Keri has had such a terrific attitude and a tremendous amount of strength. If you would like to read more about Keri and her journey through her battle with cancer, please visit her blog. She really is amazing. I’m not sure what my state of mind would be if I was faced with the same battle.

She has inspired me to get involved with the fight against breast cancer. I will be running in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure on June 21 in Saint Louis. I am asking each of you to donate to the Fund. Please look at the chart and see what is possible with your donations. Please visit my page and donate whatever you can, no matter how small. Every little bit helps. No one should have to go through what Keri is going through. Please help! I’ll make sure to post this every once in awhile as we get closer to the race. Right now my goal is set at $100  but I hope to raise more!!!

 
Raise You will make possible…
$250-$499 Screening ultrasounds for up to 7 people  
$500-$1249 Mammograms for up to 12 people  
$1250-$2499 Digital mammograms for up to 16 people  
$2500-$4999 Wigs for up to 24 women who have lost their hair as a result of treatments  
$5000-$9999 Breast prostheses for up to 40 women who have lost one or both breasts to cancer  
$10,000 and over Significant cost offsets for surgery, treatment and recovery of up to 20 people diagnosed with breast cancer  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Race for the Cure!

  1. julia says:

    Yay for you, Hanna. How sweet of you to link to us. I officially donated some dough to a great cause. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

