I Came, I Saw, I Raced!

This morning, Robyn and I got up bright and early to Race for the Cure! I got some new adidas shorts and a shoe pocket last night at sports authority… i was feeling like a real runner! We met at the CWE metro and soon found that every train was PACKED with people wearing various shades of pink! We crammed in and followed the crowd to the race site. Once we got Robyn’s t-shirt, we heard on the loud speaker that the race was about to begin! We found our way over to the “non-competitive” runner category. They announced the start of the race and we walked for about ten minutes before we even got to the starting line. Once we got there, the crowd thinned out a little bit and we started to jog around all the walkers. By our first water station at the half mile mark, Robyn was spent. I coaxed her on and decided that even if she needed to walk, I was still going to jog and just be a little ahead of her. She took turns between walking and running and was a champ! I made it jogging the whole way!!! That is a new record for me (not saying much, I know). I was on such a high seeing all those people together for one purpose. They announced that over 70,000 people were participating today. This was the biggest Race for the Cure in the world!! We raised over 3.3 million dollars!! I personally raised $560!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH for contributing to such a great cause.
Next year we want to get a team together… I can’t wait!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Came, I Saw, I Raced!

  1. Lauren says:

    I was there today too! It was such a beautiful day and just so many people. It always amazes me!!!

  2. hckelley says:

    It really was a great day! I got a little emotional seeing all of those people there. Thanks for stopping by Lauren. You have such a cute blog!

  3. Emily says:

    Congrats girl!! How exciting!! I’m so proud! 🙂

  4. julia says:

    Congrats on your run, Hanna! I was thinking about you and hoping you did well. What a fantastic event. I’m so glad we both got to experience it.

  5. Mom says:

    Congratulations, I am so proud of you!!! Jogging the entire distance…way to go! Next year, Karen and I should join you…maybe we can add Londyn and Lori as well? I love you…you are always doing great things!

Leave a Reply

