All in the name of science…

I’ve decided to participate in another research study. Some of you may remember the pudding study (I’ll never eat pudding again). This study is different. It’s a sleep study for people that experience non-restorative sleep (isn’t that everyone?). My first visit is next Tuesday morning where they will draw blood, do an EKG, and some other tests to see if I’m healthy enough to participate. Shouldn’t be a problem. The following week, I would have three consecutive overnight visits where they hook me up to a bunch of monitors to figure out if I have a sleep disorder. I don’t think I do…so that would lead to the next set of visits where they give me medicine and I journal how I sleep for about a month. Seems easy to me! If I finish all of the visits I get a grand total of $540! Not bad, huh?

As a disclaimer, yes I’ve read the risks and the informed consent. It’s not approved by the FDA but has been tested in humans before.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All in the name of science…

  1. LucyinStLou says:

    Would you mind posting how you found out about the study? I am convinced my husband has a sleep disorder and would really benefit from something like this.

  2. Lynn says:

    Hanna – I’ve had two sleep studies and they are truly unpleasant. The number of wires and where they are connected to your body inhibit your ability to sleep comfortably. You’ll feel like an old-fashioned stereo system with all the wires connected to your head and body. You won’t be able to turn over or move without getting tangled in the mass of wires.

    The money will be nice, but I’m guessing you are going to be very tired following the 3-night event.

    Good luck. I love you.

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

