Hodge Podge

1. I got a call from the sleep study coordinator and my sleep study is cancelled 😦 sadness

2. I baked my first apple pie yesterday! It might not be the prettiest looking pie…but Collin said it was yummy.

3. KK and her bf came to visit this weekend 🙂 We went out to lunch and then hung out for awhile before heading to Fright Fest at Six Flags. It was a little lame, in my opinion. They had it decorated for Halloween but I was expecting more of a haunted house kind of atmosphere. It was pretty fun to ride all of the roller coasters in the dark though. After the fun, we ordered pizza and watched Charlie Bartlett. It was a cute movie.

4. I never posted pictures of the awesome artwork Collin got me for our anniversary.

5. A picture of my super tired puppy after a weekend of running through Collin’s grandpa’s backyard. She looks like a starving ethiopian in this picture but I promise she is well fed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hodge Podge

  1. Kristal says:

    Your pie looks great! Love the lattice top. And don’t worry, Alvin looks like a starving Ethiopian doggie too, even though he’s well fed. 😉

  2. Jen says:

    Apple pie is my favorite, and my mouth is watering now – even after just eating lunch! Plus, I think a lot of us have well fed (sometimes over-fed) Ethiopian pups 😉

  3. julia says:

    Oh, her little ribs are too cute.

    And that pie looks freaking amazing!!

  4. Emily says:

    The pie looks beautiful darling!!! 😀

  5. Lauren says:

    Ooo, that is an impressive pie! I went apple picking this past weekend and have an insane amount of apples so I’m going to try my hand at pie making… let me know if you have any tips!

  6. hckelley says:

    Thanks! I used the Betty Crocker cookbook recipe for the pie. The lattice work was actually the easiest part. I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into strips. I couldn’t get the actual pie crust to come out the right size…it kept getting stuck to my rolling pin and then I’d have to start over 😦

  7. Aunt Lori says:

    Hey!!! I forgot about your blog, and I have so bookmarked it and will check it all the time!!! We really think alike. A couple of chick lit books – I just finished “The Wedding” Nicholas Sparks, probably my favorite. And Jodi Piccoult’s “My Sister’s Keeper”. As a sister, you HAVE to read it. I cried and cried on both of them, which I thoroughly enjoy, but my hubby thinks is goofy. A quick way to do apples–
    Wrap quarters of apple in a crescent roll triangle. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Bring 1 C of oj and sugar + 1/2 cup of butter to a boil. Pour a bit of syrup on the apple dumplings. Bake 15-20 minutes. Pour more syrup over when finished and add cinnamon if you like. If you don’t like mushy food, you don’t have to make as much syrup. Not a big fan of apple pie, but this is YUMMY!!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

