Day 1

Day one of half marathon training was a mixture of panting and exhilaration. Today was my three mile base run. I might be in trouble if the first day is hard! The first mile was pretty good… the next one was a mixture of hard and ok. The last one was just awful. It felt good to push through though. I listened to music but I think I’d rather listen to talk radio. I like to be able to focus on something and think while I’m running. The music just doesn’t really cut it for me. Next time, I’ll come prepared.

Tomorrow is strength and stretching (yay!) Wednesday is 2 miles of eliptical (cross-training). Thursday is another 3 miles. Friday is a rest day. Saturday is 30 minutes of cross training and Sunday is 4 miles!

I thought I should mention I’m running the Illinois Half Marathon on April 11th. My friends Tana and Emily are also running, but they are doing the St. Louis half marathon. I wish I was going to be running the actual race with them but at least I’ll have running buddies! My mom is going to be jogging in her first 5k the same day as my half! It’ll be great to have her there at the finish line as we both meet our goals!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 1

  1. Mom says:

    I am looking forward to the next 12 weeks. You’ve given me one of my first goals for my 50 before 50 list. Maybe I’ll even been in shape enough to run the 5k 😉 Thanks for the motivation…I know you’ll be great!

  2. Me says:

    I’m considering training for the St. Louis half-marathon. Where did you find your training schedule? Can you share?

  3. hckelley says:

    I’ve been told that the Hal Higdon program (www.halhigdon.com) is a good program. This is my first half marathon though, so I can’t really speak from experience.

Leave a Reply

