Proof is in the Pictures

I did it! On Saturday morning, bright and early, I ran my first half marathon!!!

110

This is right after the starting line. I was trying to remind myself to take it slow and not waste all my energy upfront.

22

Collin’s brother and his brother’s fiancee (Cory and Candy) ran in the 5k.

31

So did my mom 🙂 She did a great job in her first run ever! 38 minutes!

41

5k Finish. Candy was first in her age group of 168 ppl! She finished in 22:50.

52

This is me at mile 10- the next time I saw my support group. I was feeling pretty good. Candy jumped in to run the next few miles with me.

61

I’m heading towards the stadium with one mile to go. Candy dropped out and Collin’s mom joined me for support.

71

81

The end of the race was at the 50 yard line of the Illinois football stadium. I’m almost there. As soon as I got on the field, they announced my name over the loudspeaker and my picture was on the jumbotron.

91

That’s me in the corner 🙂

101

The happy finishers! (I look like hell in this picture but after not sleeping the night before and then running 13.1 miles…. I think it’s pretty cool).

I’m really proud of myself and look forward to the Chicago FULL MARATHON in October…. I’m already nervous!

Here’s my official info:

Number of Finishers: 3,755
Number of Females: 2,083
Number of Males: 1,659
Average Time: 2:11:38

My time: 2:28

1512 out of 2095 girls

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Proof is in the Pictures

  1. Lauren says:

    WOW. WOW. WOW! Congrats!

  2. Amy says:

    Very proud of you. I know how much it meant and I’m so glad that you did it!

  3. Kristal says:

    Congrats!!! Way to go. 🙂

  4. julia says:

    I thought for sure you were running in the STL half next weekend! I’m so sorry I didn’t get to send you best wishes in time. But seriously, great job! Wasn’t it awesome? I’m very proud of you.

    And I just might be seeing you in Chicago this fall…it will be here before we know it!

Leave a Reply

