14 Weeks

Your adorable little fetus is busy with thumb sucking, toe wiggling, and (not so cute but equally amazing) making urine and breathing amniotic fluid as the liver, kidneys and spleen continue to develop. Lanugo (thin, downy hair) is growing all over the body for warmth.

I had my 13 week appointment on Tuesday. We were hoping to hear the heartbeat but it was still too soon. We did get to have another quick ultrasound where we saw the baby’s heartbeat (perfect) and got to see him/her moving around. Very cool. It’s weird to think that there’s a baby inside me, moving around that I can’t even feel. I’m up to a total weight gain of 6 pounds which is right on track.

I’ve been feeling dizzy lately which may be caused by low blood pressure. Other disconcerting news from the appointment- my doctor only delivers at Barnes. Barnes is a fine hospital but it’s not exactly in the best area and it’s not exactly posh. I’m going on a tour of their facilities tomorrow but I have a feeling I might be breaking up with my doctor. I have tours scheduled for St. John’s and Missouri Baptist in the coming weeks so I have a good comparison. I have a recommendation for a new OB (my boss is also pregnant and loves hers). I’m definitely keeping my doctor until my next appointment because we’ll find out the gender at that point. After my tours, I’ll decide where I want to deliver and then make sure that my new OB has privileges there. Fun stuff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 14 Weeks

  1. julia says:

    ew, that dizziness totally stunk..I remember that!

    And kudos to you for deciding to find a different doc if you aren’t totally happy with the hospital. It’s definitely important to be comfortable there!

Leave a Reply

