Weeks 32 and 33

  

Week Thirty Two: Reproductive development continues

 

  
You are 32 weeks pregnant. 

  • The baby is 17 inches long and weighs 4 pounds.
  • The diameter of the head is almost 4 inches.
  • Under the skin the fat layer is getting thicker.
  • The toenails and fingernails are completely formed.

During this time the baby sleeps most of the day. The uterus is getting to be a small space for the baby to move about, so you may have noticed a decrease in your baby’s movements. The baby is still trying to move frequently but it just does not have enough room. The baby will turn its head from side to side and move its hands.

As space in your uterus becomes more cramped, your baby’s kicks and other movements may seem less forceful. You may want to check on your baby’s movements from time to time and do a kick count.

The baby will now weigh about 4 pounds. Half of your weight gain now will go directly to baby.
Are you waddling? This is because the ligaments in your pelvis have softened, allowing your hips to spread in preparation for birth.

32 Week appt update

I had my last ultrasound before the baby gets here this week. She is measuring at roughly 4lbs 5 oz and looks healthy! They predict she’ll be in the 7-8 lb range (I’m thrilled). No big babies here! My due date according to the doctor is now September 16th. This is probably the 4th due date I have had but I’ll go with it because, what do I know? and it’s earlier 🙂 I’ve been in a lot of pain due to the baby pressing on my nerve. It causes me to waddle which is a great sight, I’m sure. I’ve had some practice contractions but the doc says I’m not making any progress for delivery. He won’t stop my labor if I start any time after 36 weeks….that’s only 3 weeks away, my friends!!  I go back on the 10th of August and then weekly after that. We’re getting down to the nitty gritty!

(I was going to post pictures of me at my shower but no one has been kind enough to send them to me *hint* hint*)

 
 

Week Thirty Three: Lanugo is disappearing

 

  
You are 33 weeks pregnant. 

  • The baby inside you is now about 4.4 pounds and around 17.5 inches in length.
  • The diameter of the head is about 8.5cm.
  • The baby fuzz, lanugo, is disappearing.
  • Your baby drinks about a pint of amniotic fluid a day.
  • You may gain a pound a week for the rest of your pregnancy.
  • Half of your weight gain will go directly to your baby.

The baby is using it’s lungs to practice breathing by inhaling amniotic fluid. Your baby is drinking about a pint of amniotic fluid a day now and urinating the same amount. The early baby fuzz, lanugo, is disappearing now and being replaced by actual hair. The nails of your baby are now long enough to reach to the tip of the fingers or beyond and may need trimming as soon as they are born. They may scratch their face even before birth.

You may gain a pound a week for the rest of your pregnancy. Calcium intake is extremely important during pregnancy because the baby will draw calcium from the mother to make and harden bone. This can greatly weaken her own bones and teeth because the developing fetus will take minerals from the mother’s skeletal structure as and when needed.

 32 Weeks:

33 Weeks:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weeks 32 and 33

  1. Mom says:

    I really like the new blog page layout…very nice! She sounds like she might make your 7lbs 40z. great size!

  2. Amy says:

    Cute dress!

  3. Lynn says:

    You look beautiful!!!!!

Leave a Reply

