Introducing…..

Charlotte Sophia Richmond was born September 14, 2010 at 5:00 p.m.

She weighed 7lbs, 5oz and was 20 inches long.

So she’s almost three weeks and I’m just now finding the time to blog. Sorry! I had anticipated doing separate blogs about everything but I think it’s just going to be a general summary. I would like to blog at least once a week to do a general update but….we’ll see.

I love this picture. It was the last picture we took of my belly before we went to the hospital.

Long story short….after almost 24 hours of labor and only two centimeters of progress I had a c-section. It was really a blessing in disguise. Once the doctor had me opened up, he realized that my pelvis was shaped in a way that wouldn’t allow a baby to go through and Charlotte had the cord wrapped tightly around her neck. If we would’ve kept trying for a vaginal delivery, in the doctor’s words…..the results would have been catastrophic. I’m so glad we made the decision we did at the time we did. The doctor came in at 4:30 in the afternoon to suggest the c-section. Collin was in the operating room at 4:52 and Charlotte was born at 5:00. It was fast and scary but so worth it.

And now for some randomness:

1. Charlotte really only cries when she’s hungry. She’s a very mellow baby. She squeaks a lot which has lead to the nickname Squeakerz.

2. She HATES being cold. She will definitely scream if you are changing her clothes and leave her naked too long. She also hates baths so far.

3. We spent Collin’s 29th birthday in the ER. The previous day I woke up and noticed that the left half of my tongue was numb. I called my OB who said it was probably nothing and if it got worse to give them a call. The next day, the entire left half of my face was numb and droopy. Fast forward to one trip to the urgent care clinic followed by a visit to the ER. After a loooooong day and an MRI, I was diagnosed with Bell’s Palsy. I guess it’s common in the third trimester of pregnancy and in the week following child birth. Some people believe it’s an auto-immune response to all the stress that your body has been under but no one really knows what causes it. I’ve been on medicine for the past week and I’m slowly getting feeling back. It normally takes around three weeks to really start feeling better and could take up to eight weeks. I guess the silver lining in this is that I’m off work and don’t really have to look like a freak around a lot of people. There’s no pain, just embarassment.

4. Sleep has been an adventure. She went through a few nights of cluster feedings that were miserable. She wanted to be fed almost every hour and would not go back to sleep. She’s been much better since then even sort of getting into a routine. She normally sleeps from 11-2:30 and is up for an hour or so and then will sleep until around 7. All in all, not a bad schedule. Collin was great this weekend and let me have the whole night to sleep. He got up with her and used the pumped milk we have to feed her. I feel so much better having long stretches of sleep.

5. My mom stayed with me last week. It was nice to have help around the house for cleaning/food/organizing and sanity. Collin’s mom will be here this week to help out.  My dad is also coming in tomorrow for a few days to meet and hang out with his 2nd grand daughter. So crazy. My niece turned 3 last week….where does the time go?

6. I ordered her halloween costume a few days ago. I’m hoping it’ll fit her considering most of her newborn clothes are still too big. She’s a long, skinny girl. I’ll post pictures closer to Halloween. (fingers crossed).

Here’s hoping to a more regular posting schedule!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introducing…..

  1. julia says:

    yay! I’ve been waiting for this update. She is adorable, and I’m so happy for you guys. What a scary story about her birth and thank goodness it turned out so well. Ah, sleep adventures never end…we are still on a roller coaster here at 7 months:)

    Enjoy your time with her, and hopefully Bells Palsy goes away soon.

  2. Emily says:

    I love hearing all that you have to say about Charlotte and her stories! Thanks for the post and for the pictures! Love that little girl!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

